The 2019 awards nominations are closed. Please stay tuned for the 2020 award nominations.

Ada Sue Hinshaw Award
The Ada Sue Hinshaw Award is considered the pre-eminent award given by FNINR named in honor of the first permanent Director of the National Institute of Nursing Research. Recipients have a substantive and sustained program of science that would afford her/him recognition as a prominent senior scientist.

The President's Award
The President’s Award is given based on a specific theme established by the President of FNINR and varies annually. This year, the theme is “Big Data” aimed at research that utilizes big data research, including application of big data in nursing and health care research; research about technological advances that allow the collection and analysis of health care to determine new knowledge about behaviors and interventional impact; and analysis of big data to discern and impact social determinants of health are a few areas that could be considered.

Welch/Woerner Path-Paver Award
The Welch/Woerner Path-Paver Award is given to a mid-to-late career nurse scientist who has achieved one or more breakthroughs in theory development, research methods, instruments, or subject matter that has paved the way for other scientists and who has influenced and mentored the next generation of nurse researchers.

Faye Glenn Abdellah Award
The Faye Glenn Abdella Leadership Award is named for this renowned nurse researcher. Faye Abdellah’s vision has resulted in inestimable value created by nurse scientists over the years. This award will go to an organization or individual with a sustained or lasting impact on nursing science either through advocacy, institutional leadership, or individual program of research that has led to the public awareness of the value of nursing science in improving health at the individual and/or population levels.

Protégé Award
The Protégé/Protegee Award is given to an evolving nurse scientist who shows great promise in advancing science and who is within the first 6 years of completing either the PhD or Post-Doctoral study.


View a complete list of historic awards provided by FNINR here.